Music To Turn 20 By: TwentySomething

Years ago my friend Nicole was driving us around one day during the two weeks or so between her birthday and mine. On the car stereo was a mixtape she had made to commemorate entering her twenties. I stole her idea and made one for my twentieth too thus beginning twelve years (so far) of making a cassette or CD to mark the passing of years. For my twenties, the series was dubbed “Music to turn _ by:_” with the appropriate number and title filled in (once I hit my thirties I thought I’d class it up and just go with a title). The song selection is usually based upon a mix of how I’m feeling at the time of production, how I felt about the prior year, and how I envision the upcoming year to be. First up is Music To Turn 20 By: TwentySomething.

Side A:

Bawitdaba ♦ Kid Rock

Under the Bridge ♦ Red Hot Chili Peppers

Rhythm Nation ♦ Janet Jackson

Roll With It ♦ Oasis

I Have Confidence ♦ Julie Andrews

Tryin’ to Throw Your Arms Around the World ♦ U2

#41 ♦ Dave Matthews Band

MMMBop ♦ Hanson

Fame ♦ Irena Cara

We Can Make the World a Whole Lot Brighter ♦ The Brady Bunch

Side B:

Roam ♦ The B-52’s

Send Me On My Way ♦ Rusted Root

The Circle Game ♦ Joni Mitchell

Don’t Stop Believin’ ♦ Journey

You Got Me ♦ The Roots ft. Jill Scott

Let Me Clear My Throat ♦ DJ Kool

Young at Heart ♦ Frank Sinatra

Dream On ♦ Aerosmith

Smells Like Teen Spirit ♦ Nirvana

Learning to Fly ♦ Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Leave a Reply

