Music To Turn 22 By: Catch 22

When I turned 22 I wrote a cover letter to a radio station in Madison, Wisconsin, where I was living at the time, seeking an internship. In my letter I framed my wanting to intern with them by the Catch 22 conundrum of being at the age where one wants to get experience but can’t get hired anywhere because he or she doesn’t have said experience. It got me the interview. However, I was so open to getting experience – any experience, my lack of focus caused me to lose out on that opportunity. C’est la vie.

In putting together this birthday compilation I again was still of the mindset that I needed to fill the CD up. A number of these songs I did not feel good about then, and still don’t like them now. And most of the ones I wasn’t sure about were suggestions from my BFF (sorry, Lisa) and were more her taste in music than mine. I’d say 10 of the tracks (1-4, 6, 7, 10-12, and 17) are me.

Brown Sugar (Fine)  ♦  Mos Def

Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)  ♦  Stevie Wonder

Love At First Sight  ♦  Kylie Minogue

Fight Test  ♦  The Flaming Lips

Life On A Chain  ♦  Pete Yorn

Harder To Breathe  ♦  Maroon 5

The Questions  ♦  Common

P.S. You Rock My World  ♦  The Eels

Sittin’ Back  ♦  Res

Get Over It  ♦  OK Go

AM to PM  ♦  Christina Milian

Freaks Come Out  ♦  Whodini

Change Your Mind  ♦  Sister Hazel

Wildflower  ♦  Tom Petty

Polyester Bride  ♦  Liz Phair

Milk and Cereal  ♦  G Love and Special Sauce

Escapade  ♦  Janet Jackson

One Moment In Time  ♦  Whitney Houston

Leave a Reply

